Aug. 24th, 2025

smokingboot: (baba yaga)
If there's a more accomodating person on this planet than Ghislaine Maxwell, I can't imagine who it is. If her interview is to be taken seriously, everyone's lovely and utterly innocent except possibly some De Rothschild person and Sarah Ferguson. The DR mention sounds like red meat for alt right conspiracy theorists and Sarah Ferguson is a known grifter so hey, suddenly the Royal Family and the inhabitants of the White House are sparkling clean. Or would be if we didn't already know that this whole episode is to move public focus away from that hit series in the making, The Epstein Files.

I can believe they don't exist, cos all that information in one place would be a stupid thing to keep, the kind of information that could get one ki - oh wait.

While ledgers and accounts would undoubtedly exist somewhere, I'd be very surprised if a man with this much to hide lumped all his information together or kept everything, incriminating or otherwise, in one set of notes/disc/USB drive/data set. That feels like a movie to me.

Can't kill a conspiracy theory, so this is a way to deflect its course. What wouldn't Maxwell do for a pardon or shortened sentence? Also, regarding Andrew, there's no point Maxwell claiming that she couldn't see them getting on, because we have the footage and Andrew's own words on the matter. They 'got on' all right. That payout to Virginia Giuffre was pretty generous for an innocent man, and if it was meant to act as damage limitation it did not work. Whether it's a Chinese spy, a trafficked sex worker, or a bloody great house mysteriously paid for, Andrew seems incapable of doing anything without taint.

As for blaming testosterone for Epstein's behaviour, is this woman not a sad strange crawling thing? Ugh.

Not Doing

Aug. 24th, 2025 07:54 am
smokingboot: (snail)
Turning away from the news. I'll look at it another day, to see if there is any difference between this summer's 'Stop the boats' and the old Irish/Black/Asian/Gay bewwwaaaaare nonsense of yesteryear. Not expecting much.

It's strange to me that those teeny FB reels of Game of Thrones are so much better than the series. Google tells me the whole thing was about 67 hours long. If you put all the best bits together I reckon there's a fine trilogy to be made, each about three hours at most. A different ending might be needed cos Bran the Boring did not making for a thrilling finale.

Drawn by the presence of two impressive GOT actors, I tried The Rig, but not for long. If I wanted badly written horror I'd go back to And Just Like That.

Watched The Fall by Tarsem. Hmm. It belongs to a genre I don't quite have a name for, something like but not exactly a successor to Magical Realism. The Fisher King is one, as is Big Fish and The Adventures of Baron Munchausen. While I love this kind of film, they're often just too long.

The Fall suffers from the same problem. It's not like anything else, differing even from others in the same category, and it's much more clever than say Munchausen. But is it just a well crafted pile of rubbish? Still not sure. This is the trailer. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZtQH_cwTOw

Profile

smokingboot: (Default)
smokingboot

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 34 5 67
8 9 1011 12 1314
15 1617 1819 20 21
22 23 24 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios